Author Topic: LINUX version  (Read 10378 times)

Anonymous

LINUX version
« on: May 28, 2007, 07:41:00 PM »
This is a great program, all that stops it from being an even better program is support for the linux platform. So that is my suggestion, to release a linux version.

RTT

• Administrator
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2007, 12:38:00 AM »
PDF Explorer uses many Windows API functions, not available in Linux, so, not easy to port, also because I have no experience with that OS :(
Have you tried already with Wine HQ. One of this days I have to take a look to see what needs to change.

Anonymous

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2008, 07:48:00 AM »
After many hours of hard work, PDFE is ok on linux (I use Kubuntu Hardy) using Wine and Adobe Reader 7. It work very bad with Acrobat Reader 5.05 and not work with Foxit 2.2.
I have experimented PDFE B54 and B57 that runs. B58 version don't run.

RTT

• Administrator
LINUX version
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2008, 11:09:00 PM »
Driven by curiosity today I'm using a MS Virtual PC 2007 machine with kubuntu to check all these limitations. Build 58 is already running, after fixing some code that call a not yet handled by WineHQ, Windows api function.

What I have found until now (Kubuntu 7.10, WineHQ 0.9.58):

Acrobat Reader and Brava!Reader (after install trick) work as internal reader, but not flawlessly.

Internet Explorer must be installed to be able to use Foxit Reader, but I had no success with IE installation :(. Any hints on this?

The DBSearch, indexed content option, don't work.

RichEdit2 must be installed (I used WineTricks) to correctly show the text only PDF view and the PDFE about box.

To use the images viewer/extractor the PDFE preferences option "smooth images" must be disabled or gdiplus.dll must be native, installed with WineTricks.

To index CHMs there is the need to install itss.dll

Get hhupd.exe from
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=14498

At command line
cabextract -F itircl.dll hhupd.exe