Author Topic: Automation Tagging?  (Read 9335 times)

jsoltani

Automation Tagging?
« on: March 19, 2015, 09:54:59 PM »
Hi, Is there a way for this software to monitor a mapped network drive (or multiple mapped network drives preferrably) and automatically tag new files based on a list of seperate automated tagging rules?
I.e. New files in a mapped network drive will go through a gauntlet of automated rules to tag it if it's an invoice, tag it based on the client name/account, tag it based on vendor, etc.

RTT

• Administrator
Re: Automation Tagging?
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2015, 12:20:29 AM »
Check the task automation folders tool. The edit info fields task tool has scripting functionality.

Or you may use the PDF-ShellTools command line and scripting interfaces to set the metadata, and use another tool/method to do the folder monitoring and call the command line/script when changes occur.

jsoltani

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2015, 05:03:14 PM »
Thank you! I'm not a programmer so I don't know how to create the script but if you gave me a script template I might be able to get through it and modify the parameters to fit my needs... Is there a chance you will create a more user friendly non-scripting version for this problem?

RTT

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2015, 08:01:18 PM »
Can you describe a detailed example of the tagging process?
- From where do you get the data (is invoice, client name/account, vendor,...)?
- What metadata fields you want to fill, and how this data is generated?
- And so forth.

jsoltani

« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2015, 08:58:45 PM »
Sure, I would like to run a list of process' each process will run through and look through all files in mapped network drive  (or folder if this can't be done)
AND including subfolders The process will look for specific key words in the File Name and tag it. For example, File Name: Jay Soltani Widget 03 20 2015.pdf